Pressed into Service

A woman is like a teabag; you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.

Nancy Reagan, 1923-
American First Lady

17
This is what the Lord says –
your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel:
‘I am the Lord your God,
who teaches you what is best for you,
who directs you in the way you should go.

Isaiah 48:17

When I am in hot water, I steam, I release anxiety, I go limp, but I am not dissolved or lost. What holds me is the hands cupped under my bowl or cup. What holds me is the promise of God that I am being taught, led, directed in the way I should go. What holds me is God’s love which never goes cold.

Sometimes I am like that tea bag, infusing the water with my essence, connected by a small tab that will be pulled on and out when the tea is just right, perhaps pressed until all the water that went in to the teabag, returns to that from which it came. I have been used and moved by the will of the God who holds me and when I am removed, unlike the tea bag, I am not discarded, but revived, refreshed and ready for the next time. Today, let the hands of God move you, guide you, direct you, press you into service.

Because of Him,
Linda

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pressed into Service

  1. Just wanted to correct something; the quote I attributed to Nancy Reagan was a misprint in the resource I was using for quotes. Eleanor Roosevelt also a First Lady is the original source of this phrase.

    Linda Dickman

Leave a Reply

