The Romance, part 1

Often I have made a request of God with earnest pleadings even backed up by Scripture, only to have Him say “No” because He had something better in store.

Ruth Bell Graham, 1920-2007

American Writer m. Billy Graham

Hear, my son, your father’s instruction,
and forsake not your mother’s teaching,
for they are a graceful garland for your head
and pendants for your neck.

Proverbs 1:8-9

I met him on a Navy base in California.  I was twelve years old, he was fifteen.  We were friends, went swimming together, got closer.  He was handsome, his dark wavy hair was a perfect accent for his broad shoulders.  He was there because he and another boy had a fight, and the boy fell backwards hitting his head on concrete, becoming gravely injured. He was on probation with his mother and step-dad.

He was  moving at the end of the summer, I was moving in October.  Once back on the east coast, I got it in my head that this boy would make the perfect co-star in the movie of my life.  I got on the phone, called information (there was a live person at the time,) got the phone number for this young man.  I called the number, got someone else with the same last name who lived on the same block. And this neighbor not only knew this boy, but had their number.  Surely this must be God’s timing, God’s orchestration.  I called the number, made the connection, wrote a letter.  It worked! The connection was made.  We corresponded for some time. I went to his Virginia home and got re-acquainted with the leading man of my choice.  It was lovely, and then he went off to Vietnam.

Tomorrow, I will continue this story, and just where God’s hand was in all of this.  Today, be content to know that you are just where God wants you, no matter how well you orchestrate, search, or find what you are looking for.

Because of Him

Linda

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgQJVfUQLho&feature=related

Draw Me Close, Kathy Troccoli

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

