The Romance, part 3

I never see what

has been done:

I only see what

remains to be done.

Marie Curie, 1867-1934

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Psalm 19:14 NIV1984

My army guy and I were writing at this point.  I had now accepted Jesus as my personal savior and I went back to college in New Hampshire.  When he came home, I remember thinking, “Like a storybook!  I met him when I was 12 and I found him, and we got to know each other through the mail.  It’s a match made in heaven!”  Little did I know that I had orchestrated the makings of a nightmare.

We were married within months of his homecoming, and moved to New Hampshire and my newly-wed life began to show signs of strain.  The violence began before I ever really acknowledged it.  At first it was yelling, then it was throwing things in the room, then he grabbed my arm, leaving black and blue fingerprints. To make a short story a little bit shorter, I realized that I had ignored all the signs for the sake of the story.  I had walked down the road I chose, not the one to which God had called me.

But God is faithful.  As I began to extract myself mentally from the relationship, the violence and danger to my life increased until a final incident where I thought he was going to kill me.  My father flew up in his single engine plane, landed in a grass field, and took me to a hotel and photographed my bruises.  He talked with my young husband, counseled him instead of what might have happened.  I agreed to finish the semester with him and think again after I graduated.  So much remained to be done!  What I thought would be three parts, has yet another.  Which I will tell tomorrow.

Today, look clearly at “that situation.”  Are you orchestrating it and asking God to go along with you?  Are you putting together “facts” to make the truth, your style?  I know I did, and sadly, sometimes still do. Keep looking to the Master for true direction, and then take His hand and walk that way.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

October 16, 2012 · 9:59 am

Leave a Reply

