Making a list, checking it twice?

You pay God a compliment by asking great things of Him.

     Teresa of Avila, 1515-1582

     Spanish Christian Mystic, Writer

 

Proverbs 15:23

23 Congenial conversation—what a pleasure!
    The right word at the right time—beautiful!

 

     When I was single, a wise father (mine!) made the suggestion that I use the dating forum as kind of a job interview process.  “After all,” he said, “you wouldn’t just invite someone to work on your car that had did not have the right credentials.”  I considered my process.  Up until then, I had been making the process quite simple, if they asked, I went.  I began to look at things somewhat differently after that, considering other factors.  Then I met a pastor who suggested that I make a list.  He entreated me to list the things that were important to me, like did he love to be around family, did he like to travel, did he love the Lord.  Then my pastor added that I could put in little details that were special just to me and that only God would know. For instance, I wanted someone that was a surprise from my childhood, a connection. Step three, was to physically lay my hand on the list, and pray it, one thing at a time, back to God.  Then I was to let God do the work.

     In previous posts, I discussed the result of what happened before I enlisted this process, I tried to help God find the right partner.  The result was disaster.  This time, I went right back to old habits, looking at fellows, listening to their words, not watching their actions, trying to help God once again.  It took me ten years to give up. Ten years and a lot of heart break.  I asked God for a great thing, and would not let God do the work.  

     My best prayer was “I give up.”  My husband was the result. God filled the list and then some, beyond my expectations.  I have employed this list process with other things, with great results.  After I let go.  Today, look at that thing you have been perhaps helping God with for some time.  You gave God the compliment by asking great things, now let go. Thank God for the result.

     Because of Him, 

     Linda

Leave a comment

October 22, 2012 · 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

