I will rise

The best reason to pray is that God is really there.  In praying, our unbelief gradually starts to melt.  God moves smack into the middle of even an ordinary day… Prayer is a mater of keeping at it…  Thunderclaps and lightning flashes are very unlikely.  It is well to start small and quietly.

Emilie Griffin, Contemporary,

American Writer

 

16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

2Timothy 3:16-17

 

When I left the art class that I spoke of previously, I felt beaten down. I kept hearing “Why do you bother? You will never be as good as they are?”  I drove to my choir rehearsal, worrying.  That was bad enough, but I was worrying about not being able to do well at rehearsal.  With musicians that I know and love.  I parked my car and walked down the street toward the rehearsal space, “You won’t be able to read the music either. You will probably be pointed out for every note you miss.” I kept walking right to the church and inside.  We round our space and I saw my friends.  Everything began to improve. The section that I sing is was separated from the other section of women, so I could hear, I was surrounded by kind musicians, and mostly amateurs like myself.  I began to relax.

I began to read the text and sing it with understanding.  A friend came in that I had not seen in a couple of years. How my spirit rejoiced!  We sang and bubbled together.  Now I felt encouraged by the better voices around me, and I could sing out, follow the director with more confidence.  The confidence allowed me to build knowledge and improve my skill.

The difference?  Me.  In both situations I was surrounded by folks  more skilled than I .  In both places there were expectations. In the art class, there were no goals set, no expectations, a teacher whose style was hard for me to follow.  In the rehearsal was a beloved teacher, a beloved accompanist, and the knowledge that I was loved. And a friend that was in a similar place as I was.

In this place, I was expected to be good, loved for who I was and with teachers I could “see” and “hear.” Tonight, the “heavies” will be at the rehearsal; the guest conductor, the guest accompanist, the professional singers.  I am scared.  But I know that I will rise.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

