Miracles

Miracles are instantaneous, they cannot be summoned, but come of themselves, usually at unlikely moments and to those who least expect them.

     Katherine Anne Porter, 1890-1980

     American Writer

 

 

He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted.

     Job 5:9

 

Recently I got a phone call from a sister in Christ.  If I were to stop there, you would say, “Okay, and?”  She operates from a very high standard, expecting others to meet it as well.  She is beautiful, well dressed at all times, and very very shy.  She lost her husband suddenly, and with that loss retreated inward.  I don’t want to say too much about her that might identify her further, but I would like to say this; we have not been close, conversational, comrade like.  I pray for her often, but have not found a way to get closer on my own, in everyday life, no way, no how!

I had an opportunity to commit a single act of kindness. Again, mentioning what would give her away and she really is very “under the radar.”  But she called me.  Of her own volition.  Me.  We had a bubbly conversation.  Those of you who know me would expect such a thing, but in this case I was not the one spraying bubbles like the Lawrence Welk Show.  It was a miracle. She called me.  She called me with joy in her voice, a smile and a thank you.  

I was not expecting it.  It came on a day when all was dark and stormy (really!)  Her call was the highlight of my day.

Keep doing the kind things you do, keep saying the ordinary every day loving things you say.  If Job could testify, (albeit it was early in the book,) so can we.

 

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

