Traditions

Tradition gives us a sense of solidarity and roots, a knowing there are some things one can count on.  

     Gloria Gaither, Contemporary

     American Writer, Singer/Songwriter

 

“But the day of the Lord will come like a thief, and then the heavens will pass away with a roar, and the heavenly bodies will be burned up and dissolved, and the earth and the works that are done on it will be exposed. Since all these things are thus to be dissolved, what sort of people ought you to be in lives of holiness and godliness,”

      2 Peter 3:10-11 ESV

 

When I was about twenty-five, we had a house fire.  In fact, because I forgot I had a candle burning in my room, it was my fault.  My mom kept cooking dinner, our Friday traditional Linguine and Clam Sauce, the firemen came, put out the fire and prepared to leave.  My mom invited them to stay for dinner (they could not).  Literally after the smoke cleared, we sat and ate.  The next morning when I went to my room to see what the damage was, I learned that some clothes are plastic when they melt, that you shouldn’t leave a candle burning on top of your stereo, and that my bible, very close to many things that were destroyed,  was singed, but whole.

The bible was a new tradition, the linguine and clam sauce an older one.  The love the prompted my mom to invite the firemen to stay older still.  Today, consider the traditions that keep you going.  Please consider sharing one here!

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

