What Grace is Given Me…

Some people give time, some money, some their skills and connections; some literally give their blood…but everyone has something to give.

Barbara Bush, 1925

American First Lady

Brethren, even if anyone is caught in any trespass, you who are spiritual, restore such a one in a spirit of gentleness; each one looking to yourself, so that you too will not be tempted.

Galatians 6:1NASB

I was cornered, stabbed by fear.  I allowed myself to tell a lie to save myself.  I was cornered by betrayal and the truth all at once.  When I got to my counselor’s office, she listened.  She did not judge, she listened.  Her response was “You were being bullied and your survived the bullies.”

It was as if she had removed a poisonous barb from my heart.  She did not absolve me, she did not make excuses for me, she merely reported what she knew the situation to be.  My hearing was clearer.  I was able to go to the Lord and ask forgiveness.  The healing could now begin.

It seems like a small thing, listening.  But without it, progress rarely occurs.  In that simple act, I was gently restored, that I might move ahead on the journey set before me.  In her my counselor reminded me of Arwen*.  The lining of her signature gray sweatshirt lined in purple, her eyes blazing blue and full of grace.

The wound still reminds me it is there once in a while, but the lesson has been a tool of healing; not only for me, for for those who then come with their own burdens, needing an ear.

Today, give that gift that only you can give.  Give it with grace and tendermercies.

Because of Him,

Linda

*(Arwen then kneels over the fading Frodo and says, “What grace is given me, let it pass to him.  Let him be spared.  Save him.”

To whom is Arwen speaking?  What’s this “grace” she’s talking about?

If Jackson holds true to Tolkien’s intent, it is the grace extended to Arwen by the Valar (Middle-earth’s pantheon) to pass into the Blessed Realm.  As one of the children of Elrond, the Halfelven, she is allowed the choice of leaving Middle-earth to dwell in immortality with the Valar, or to remain in Middle-earth as a mortal and suffer death.  In the eventual passing from the Grey Havens, Frodo takes Arwen’s place in paradise.  Arwen’s “grace,” then, is the gift of immortality.

Her request is made of the Valar.  What Jackson puts in Arwen’s mouth in this scene, then, is the closest thing to a prayer ever uttered in Middle-earth.) (http://hollywoodjesus.com/lord_of_the_rings_feature_01.htm)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

