Unto the Hills

Unto the Hills

Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off the goal.

 
     Hannah More, 1745-1833
 
 
Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything; tell God your needs and…thank him for his answers.
 
     Philippians 4:6-7
 
     When David and I were first married, we went for my first sail boat cruise on his parents boat.  It was a CSY-33 for those of you in the know. They had “picked it up at the showroom” so to speak, sailing the intra-coastal waterway from the Caribbean to Northport NY.  It was sea-worthy, prepared to turn totally around making a complete capsize and turn making a 360 back to the surface.  
 
Of course this was all explained to me on my first ever cruise.  All I could think about was “Why would you need such a feature?” and “Will we need such a feature?” My in-laws took a shift sailing and then David and I did. It went pretty well, and I had minimal stomach discomfort until we reached Cape Cod Bay.  My father in law told me to look just above the horizon.  It helped.  I couldn’t see the shore line several times.  My father in law’s sage advice came back, “Just look above the horizon.”  When I could not see land at night, I heard it again.
 
     I was so focused on my fears, and the possibilities of what might happen in the boat that I lost sight of the goal. And so today, as you face whatever it is you are facing, keep your eyes just above the horizon, perhaps on the hills- from whence cometh your help.
 
Steve Bell, Unto the Hills
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

