I Want to Live Like That (cont.)

The trouble with many men is that they have got just enough religion to make them miserable.  If there is not joy in religion, you have got a leak in your religion.

    –  Billy Sunday (1862-1935)
     Evangelist and professional baseball player.
 
 
38 For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    
   –  Romans 8:38-39
 
 
Struggle.  What we do when a corner of our clothing is caught underneath a weight greater than we can move.  We either come away with a torn garment or we are stuck until someone or something comes along to help.  
 
Struggle.  It is what I am doing right now.  I have a challenge that I cannot get away from, cannot remove, that no weather is going to prevent.  I must go through. It reminds me of an episode of Star Trek – Voyager wherein Janeway goes through a series of tests to help achieve the healing of Kes, one of the members of the crew. (Voyager- Sacred Ground)
 
She goes through intense testing against the advice of the “guides” and after all is said and done, she is told that she did not have to go through the test, she just had to be willing to go through.  Kes’s healing is accomplished and Janeway learned a lesson.
 
I am not sure what it is for me.  I am in the midst of this test, I have no choice and I do not know what to do next.  Except pray and as the song says “live like that.. So that everything I say and do points to You.”
 
Today, whatever you are facing, I pray that you are willing to go through, and that you learn the lesson.  We all know what happens when the lesson is not learned the first time.  We get it again.  And if we do learn it, we move on to a new lesson.  I guess the most important lesson is to stay connected to the teacher.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

