Only a Dream

The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery; You shall not murder; You shall not steal; You shall not covet”; and any other commandment, are summed up in this word, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” 10 Love does no wrong to a neighbor; therefore, love is the fulfilling of the law.
 
    – Romans 13:9-10
 
Contempt is the weapon of the weak and a defense against one’s own despised and unwanted feelings.
      – Alice Miller, psychologist and author (1923-2010) 
 
 
Only a Dream
 

I stood in a line that I had no time for

two deep in three columns

to have something appraised that I did not bring
bought things I could not afford
 
distracted from the line
 to find it was gone
taunted by children 
who were only following their elders
 
only to have my quilts dismembered
my baskets empty
overcharged for Old Spice and many jewels
admonished by an old friend in a white colllar,
who was not a gemologist
reaching home to worry about returning everything
 
 
cleaning supplies were discarded, mocked
replaced with an older group just as expired
discovered that all were family
was forgiven 
 
only to find that it was all
only a dream, well almost.
 
                     by Linda T. Dickman
 
This poem is what I woke up with. It is the dream I survived.  I take it to mean that my life is way overcrowded and things are changing everywhere.  No matter what, I need to follow the rules I know, in love.  For truly, no matter what, I am loved.
 
Because of Him,
Linda

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

