No Love

Blessed are those who trust in the Lord,
    whose trust is the Lord.
They shall be like a tree planted by water,
    sending out its roots by the stream.
It shall not fear when heat comes,
    and its leaves shall stay green;
in the year of drought it is not anxious,
    and it does not cease to bear fruit.

 
     ~ Jeremiah 17:7-8
 
 
Poets are soldiers that liberate words from the steadfast possession of definition.  
 
     ~Eli Khamarov, The Shadow Zone
 
I opened up my lesson on poetry with the fifth grade.  One of my students announced that he hated poetry.  We had the traditional discussion about music, and how music and poetry and aligned.  I took it a step further and asked him who his favorite musician was.  His answer stunned me.  It was Lil’ Wayne.
I am including a link lest any of you do not know of this man. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lil_Wayne .  The student then responded to the question, “What is your favorite song by Lil’ Wayne?” with “No love.”  I asked him to recite the lyrics ( http://www.lilwaynehq.com/lyrics/no-love/ ).  
 
The kids kind of gave me that  You-have-no-idea-who-he-is-do-you look.  The boy blushed, told me he could not recite the lyrics because there were dirty words in them.  I knew this.  Sadly, I made some judgement calls on Lil’ Wayne and his berating of women and how his music reflected his philosophy     I encouraged the young man to look at those lyrics and consider what a grad student considers when looking at a poem,  (ie; tone, words, conventions, voice, structure) and moved on with the lesson.  
 
When I spoke with a member of the staff later, I found that this young student’s life is in one of the worst maelstroms one might experience.  Please pray for Frankie (not his name) and his family.  They need a miracle.  He is experiencing one hard chapter of his very young life. It occurs to me that perhaps this child’s embracing of Lil’ Wayne and the shocking music might just be for the shock value, but it may also be the way he is feeling.  
 
Today, please pray as a tree planted by the river, for this tender young sapling.
Because of Him,
 
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

