Just Like a Child at Play

Fools say in their hearts, “There is no God.”
    They are corrupt, they do abominable deeds;
    there is no one who does good.

 
     ~ Psalm 14:1
 
Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play.
 
  ~Heraclitus
 
This is national poetry month!  I will be sharing as many as possible with you, mixed in with some lyrics as well.  Today, notice the beauty around you in the sun, in the rain, in whatever you are driving, walking, moving around in.  Just like a child at play.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
 
 
                                                                    Alignment

                                                                      by
                                                                    Joseph Robert Mills

 

Because the road to the daycare goes east,

on spring mornings we drive towards the sun

along a corridor of flowering dogwoods,

and it may be the illuminated white petals,

the second coffee I had before we left,

or Pink doing a Steve Miller song, the one

from Happy Feet that made me realize

she has a great voice, but suddenly I’m close

to tears.  I have to lock my elbows to keep

the van on the road.  Then I start laughing

because of how difficult it would be to explain

I drove into a tree after being overwhelmed

by the enigmatic beauty of this world. 

From the backseat, my son asks, “Daddy,

What’s wrong?” and when I say, “Nothing,

I’m just happy,” he claps, “I’m happy too!”

 

From Love and Other Collisions (Press 53, 2010).
Used with the author’s permission.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

