All Things New

 


14 For the love of Christ urges us on, because we are convinced that one has died for all; therefore all have died. 15 And he died for all, so that those who live might live no longer for themselves, but for him who died and was raised for them.
 
     ~ 2 Corinthians 5:14-15

 
It is the hour to rend thy chains,
The blossom time of souls. 
 
     ~ Katherine Lee Bates
 
 
The words I would use to describe this  school year might be, hopeful, painful, successful, angst producing, time of purging, time of scourging, intense, amazing, exquisite.  Easter came, but without much of any tradition I ever employed.  No extra Bible study at church, no decorations save tulips, lillies and a basket, no posters on the windows, no wreath bearing eggs or spring flowers.  The only words I could use to describe my personal Easter at the time were “it feels as if I am living Easter, not observing it.” And by this I mean, I felt as if I were in the process of Easter. 
 
It took the words of a friend to shine light on what is happening:
 “Christ is risen! God makes all things new. I’m praying you will spot this in your life and may the gift of your poetry disclose this to all who visit your words.”
 
It was the “spot this in your life” phrase that made me flash this year from the start (actually from last St. Baldrick’s Day) until now.  God is indeed giving me a makeover.  It has all the earmarks of birth: acceptance,  joy, pain, discomfort, transformation, deliverance, being raised up and made new.  I am so thankful for the friend who not only prayed this, but shared this.
 
I feel so much like “the Beast” in the Disney transformation scene.  God is good!  Hope is as close as breath!
 
 
Today, let God give you a broader view of what it is you are experiencing.  When you emerge from this makeover, there will be more of God’s light shining from you, a true beauty.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

