Let Go, Let God or Problem? No Problem!

The problem is not that there are problems.  The problem is expecting otherwise and thinking that having problems is a problem.  

 
               ~ Theodore Rubin
 

11 For it is written,

“As I live, says the Lord, every knee shall bow to me,
    and every tongue shall give praise to[a] God.”

 

~ Romans 14: 11

 

God and I have been in a relationship for some time now.  I know well enough that when a challenge presents itself, there is a blessing wrapped in its core.  This school year has been like living on a spiral mobile, turning into the light, thrust into darkness, turning into the light, darkness…It is not as gradual, but seems even more sudden.  This year, there have been many things to distract;

 

 

  • Hurricane/Superstorm Sandy (I live on the East Coast)
  • Losing loved ones.
  • The Nor’easter that followed.
  • Losing a week of school that was no vacation.
  • The Clackamas Mall shooting (my daughter worked there at the time.)
  • Newtown Connecticut shooting. (I have friends that live there, and I work in an elementary school.
  • The stabbings in China.
  • The Boston Marathon bombings.
  • Earthquakes in various places.
  • Tsunami’s that have affected various places.
  • Family challenges.
  • Colleagues and friends with cancer.
(I am sure you can add to this list.)
 
I know I have missed something, but underneath it all was/is another challenge.  One about which I have been in denial for several years.  I have looked for the blessings in each challenge, in each tragedy.  I have soaked up the blessings from the good that has happened in this school year.  It seems these are a filling up before the next blow that hits this earth, this race.
 
The part about denying it is, I have put off reaping the blessings that come from giving things over to the Lord, holding on to it by denying it.  It is just as difficult to receive a blessing when my arms are not free because they are holding on to something yet thinking that I could still go about my business while this other challenge was ” in the room,” but I would not address it.  Kind of like writing at a desk with a bag full of groceries in your arms.
 
The challenges are just gonna keep on coming.  My job has got to be to give those challenges to the Lord, rather than holding them while I am trying to move on.  When I put those groceries down, write the note, my arms are then free to receive, to hug, to praise the Living God.
 
Today, take another look at that challenge.  Give it to the only one who knows what to do with it.  Watch God turn it into an opportunity to be blessed, to bless others.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
 
Let Go, Let God.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

