“Soular” Panel

18 You know that you were ransomed from the futile ways inherited from your ancestors, not with perishable things like silver or gold, 19 but with the precious blood of Christ, like that of a lamb without defect or blemish.


      ~ 1 Peter 1:18-19
 
A kiss makes the heart young again and wipes out the years.
 
       ~ Rupert Brooke
 
My dad’s family started at the end of a gun.  My great grandmother found out who made her daughter pregnant and “encouraged” my grandfather to marry her.  That marriage resulted in four boys, all of whom grew up to serve in World War II, three of whom grew up to have multiple marriages, multiple affairs, multiple children.  My dad looked at this and somehow saw the pattern.  He was second born, the “white sheep” of the family.  He left us a legacy of which any Boy Scout would be proud.  Thrifty, brave, clean and reverent.  I loved my uncles and still love all their families.  I am happy that my dad chose the life he wanted and pursued it until he entered the Church Triumphant.
 
I am looking at legacy here.  I have an acquaintance with whose mother I worked at the beginning of my career.  Irregular, confrontational for no apparent reason, negative unless it was her idea.   A driving force for good in her own profession, in her own way, but toxic.  Her daughter has followed suit.  The phrase “legacy of negativity” was used to describe this occurrence.
 
Our ancestors have left us legacies, some of which we embrace and some of which we choose to leave behind.  If you stop and take a look back over your family, I am sure you have chosen to embrace some of the wonderful things your family stood/stands for,  and leave much behind, If you came from a sad legacy, and you are a sheep of a different color, I am sure that your character which might have followed negative ways, has “fighter” qualities that you are using for the good.
 
In Christ, you are a new creature, forever young while growing ever wiser in Him.  Today, take a look over your legacy, the one you come from, the one you are leaving for others.  Pray that your footsteps continue to be guided into the light, but remember that when you pass through the darkness, you have a “Soular” panel that keeps the lights on.  His name is Jesus.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

