Walking and the hills

In my room, the world is beyond my understanding, but when I walk I see that it consists of three or four hills and a cloud

 
      ~ Wallace Stevens
 
 
Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.
 
     ~ Romans 12:15
 
Walking.  Something I have not done enough of since my dear friend and walking buddy moved off of Long Island.  We walked for three plus miles a day and over many hills and through many trees.  We rejoiced with each other, we wept with each other.  We got through many times happy and sad and kept right on walking.  
 
We made the post office envy us, many winter mornings walking unless it was below 20 degrees. What a wise woman the Lord sent to me.  I can still stand on certain spots and remember where she would stop me, and have me look up, or down, or just listen.  Our “trail” is sacred ground for me. Wisdom soaked ground.  
 
I am thankful for the years of friendship, the years of friendship that my friend showed my husband before we met, the years to come.  Because in all those walks we saw those three or four hills, the crosses that stood upon them, and the cloud that awaits.  
 
The hematite bay in those early foggy mornings pales by comparison.  Today, as you walk, look at things a little bit differently.  Let God our of the box.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

