Good Strong Push


In God, whose word I praise,
    in God I trust; I am not afraid;
    what can flesh do to me?


Psalm 56:4
 
 
Sometimes the best helping hand you can get is a good, firm push.
 
  ~Joann Thomas
 
My left knee has a lot of memories.  When I think of why I fell on it so often, I smile. I remember my first scooter (think “Back to the Future.”)  I fell off of that a lot, especially flying down our hill.  Then my first bicycle, my father gave me a good firm push…many times and I fell…knee again. Then my skateboard. My dad fashioned a skateboard out of my old roller skates (that required a key) and a bit of fence that he had left over.  Same hill, different fall.
 
I loved that my dad was there with me, to catch me when I fell, to help me bind up my wounds, paint red pictures in mercurochrome.  What I love best is that he encouraged me to try, and try again and again.  He had been there, or he would try it first to make sure the equipment was worthy, and then he would coach me.
 
Isn’t God just like that.  Sent His son to get to know the ropes, gives us instructions and be there for us when we fall.  My knee may remind me know and then of all those good times, but it also reminds me  of a loving parent who was there, just the way our Heavenly parent is there.
 
Today, look around your life’s wall.  Who was there for you to give you a good strong push?  God is still there for us in that loving, encouraging way.
Helping Hand Song
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

