Who Owns the Sky?

1-8 You’re blessed when you stay on course,
walking steadily on the road revealed by God.
You’re blessed when you follow his directions,
doing your best to find him.
That’s right—you don’t go off on your own;
you walk straight along the road he set.
You, God, prescribed the right way to live;
now you expect us to live it.
Oh, that my steps might be steady,
keeping to the course you set;
Then I’d never have any regrets
in comparing my life with your counsel.
I thank you for speaking straight from your heart;
I learn the pattern of your righteous ways.
I’m going to do what you tell me to do;
don’t ever walk off and leave me.


     ~ Psalm 119:7
(I will praise thee with an upright heart,

when I learn thy righteous ordinances. 119:7

…all by itself from Revised Standard Version.)

 
We cannot hold a torch to light another’s path without brightening our own.  
 
     ~ Ben Sweetland
 
I have a friend whose Ojibwe name means lighted path.  He walks gently.  He observes completely. The hospitality of his house is generous beyond measure. Anyone passing by is offered a seat, some food, some refreshment.  If you are a friend, your friends are as well.  He is a confident man, an accomplished cook,  an loving husband, father, grandfather.  His focus is on the path.  
 
When he was a young man, he brought his grandfather to his new dwelling. “Look Grandpa at what I own!” And his grandfather replied “But who owns the sky?”  My friend was humbled and enwisened all at once.
 
Today, as you spread light along the path, take stock of what you own, and indeed, the One who owns the sky.
Thy Word
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

