Children are Treasures

 

14 but Jesus said, “Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them; for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.”

 ~ Matthew 19:14

    

 

I brought children into this dark world because it needed the light that only a child can bring.

 

 ~Liz Armbruster, on robertbrault.com

 

I am thankful today for my own children.  I am thankful that they call on me, listen to me, encourage me when I am struggling.  They have been this way as long as I can remember.  Both of them are kind to others, even when it is hard, they are good friends to their friends, and they are valued members of our church family. They also have been participants in mission trips and community work through high school, college and beyond.

 

  I am happy to see children involved in worship more and more at our church. They participate in the worship as prayer leaders, musicians, they preach the word on occasion, and they are active participants in the children’s sermon, the littlest ones often stealing the show. (Thankful for my pastor’s sense of humor!)

 

The key here is that the children were always seen as valuable.  It is something I experienced as a child, and it never occurred to me to be any different as an adult.  My students are valuable teachers for me, and for each other.  They are truly treasures.  I am so glad that Jesus set the tone in His ministry on earth by insisting that the children come to Him.

 

Today, let the little children come, even when they are disguised as adults.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiXxBAuDMhg

Steve Green – Children are treasures of the Lord

 

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

