Whistle a Happy Tune

The time is always right to do what is right. 

 
      ~ Martin Luther King, Jr.
 
 
When my soul is in the dumps, I rehearse
everything I know of you,
From Jordan depths to Hermon heights,
including Mount Mizar.
Chaos calls to chaos,
to the tune of whitewater rapids.
Your breaking surf, your thundering breakers
crash and crush me.
Then God promises to love me all day,
sing songs all through the night!
My life is God’s prayer.
 
     ~ Psalm 42:8
 
Heart in pieces all over the campus and like the reassembling monster Gorignak, every time I am him, it came back together and fell apart.  The good news is, he hadn’t seen me…yet.  My Jewish mother on campus, sweet Lenore, helped me.  
 
“You will NOT let him see one tear, you will practice in the mirror at smiling no matter what, holding your head up high, walking with confidence.  Every time.  And when he actually talks to you, he will NOT see the hurt.  Be sunny, laugh and as you turn away, if you cry, that is okay, but hold it back.”
 
I did just what she told me to do.  I practiced, and it worked.  When I saw the young man with whom I truly believed I would spend the rest of my life, I was dressed up, not down, I was smiling, not crying, and I was pleasant, even convivial.  As I turned to walk away, my mask dissolved into tears, but he never saw it.  
The result of this deception. Is very strange to tell. For when I fool the people. I fear I fool myself as well.” Rodgers and Hammerstein knew.  And so did the psalmist.  My soul was in the dumps, and eventually I knew that this was not God’s best for me.  I recovered, and I learned that I could do hard things.
 
Today, as you face that hard thing, whistle a happy tune, your favorite chorus or hymn and trust God, who loves you more than you will ever know.
Whistle a Happy Tune
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

