Taps in the Morning

 

“After a few mouthfuls of moon-flavored air, even the stubbornly drowsy can find themselves wide-eyed.. All the normal noises of life were gone, leaving behind the secretive sounds, the shy sounds, the whispers and conversations of moss disputing with grass over some soft piece of earth, or the hummingbird snoring.”
― N.D. WilsonLeepike Ridge
 
 
Who stood up for me against the wicked?
Who took my side against evil workers?
If God hadn’t been there for me,
I never would have made it.
The minute I said, “I’m slipping, I’m falling,”
your love, God, took hold and held me fast.
When I was upset and beside myself,
you calmed me down and cheered me up.
 
– Psalm 94:18, 19
 
And this morning, I am sitting at my computer in the kitchen of the home in which I am still growing up, listening to someone practicing Taps. It is a sobering thing to hear, yet peaceful.  
The night has been laid to rest, the hummingbird is awake and singing the praises of God, a new day awaits.
 
Here are some of  the popular lyrics to the call by Daniel Adams Butterfield (and his buglers) which honors the fallen:

Day is done, gone the sun,
From the hills, from the lake,
From the sky.
All is well, safely rest,
God is nigh.

Go to sleep, peaceful sleep,
May the soldier or sailor,
God keep.
On the land or the deep,
Safe in sleep.

Love, good night, Must thou go,
When the day, And the night
Need thee so?
All is well. Speedeth all
To their rest.

Fades the light; And afar
Goeth day, And the stars
Shineth bright,
Fare thee well; Day has gone,
Night is on.

Thanks and praise, For our days,
‘Neath the sun, Neath the stars,
‘Neath the sky,
As we go, This we know,
God is nigh.

Taps
Today, order your steps purposefully behind the hem of His garment.  Let your words be sweet, not syrupy, just…easy on the ear.  There are little creatures listening always. Let us answer the call to new life.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

