Tossing and Turning

How like a queen comes forth the lonely Moon from the slow opening curtains of the clouds, walking in beauty to her midnight throne!

 
      ~ George Croly
 
 1-4 If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.

     ~ Philippians 2:3,4
 
I am watching two examples of what looks like “My will not thine.”  They appear to be developing because of disturbed routines.  On the one hand a person is manipulating her schedule saying it is for the sake of the others. For all appearances it look as if she is doing it for herself and in her wake many others’ routines will be disturbed, but hers will remain the same.  The other situation is unfolding but in its folds hide a hornet’s nest which appears to be falling into the direct path of a yellow-jacket’s nest.  
 
I have been the object of what happens in both cases.  Instead of trying to analyze either situation further, I have been questioning my own motives, schedules, maturity level.  About 4:00 this morning when I first woke up, both situations had me as tangled as the blankets.  I prayed.  I prayed some more.  Eventually I fell back to sleep.  What I know now is that I don’t have enough information about either situation, and … that I need to leave it all with the One who knows just what is happening and has all the information.
 
Today I will bite my tongue more often, and watch and pray.  My throat will be freer to sing, my heart will be freer to inform the rest of me about the will of the one who washed my sins away. To follow Him like the moon follows the sun.
Oh Happy Day!
(Oh Happy Day…gets me every single time!)
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

