Kindness Matters

What this world needs is a new kind of army – the army of the kind. 

 
 ~Cleveland Amory
 
 
“If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers—most of which are never even seen—don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.
 
~ Matthew 6:33
 
One of my second graders asked me if I had any Halloween books in the library.  I answered in the affirmative, and told her we were not quite ready for Halloween yet, whereupon she shared that she had already started her Christmas list.  “Really, ” I said, ” I am so impressed!  I know you must be thinking of what you can do for others at Christmas, because I know you must not be thinking of your personal list already!”   
 
I left a wide-mouthed second grader thinking.  It seems amazing that the focus was already ahead and singular.  I know that kids cannot wait for Christmas, but I am hoping to leave something different behind me.  I am not saying that I have never been the one who had a mile-long list, and I am also not saying that the only folks I have ever known with such lists are kids.  Listening to K-LOVE has made me take a long hard look at my personal finances.  During a particularly stressful period in my last school year, I was going out to lunch nearly every day, listening to the plea of the radio station on behalf of their fund drive and combining any donation of $40.00  a month with being matched by a major company to donate a pair of shoes for each $40.00 pledge.  I did the math, and during that time, I could have easily afforded that rather than the lunches which were nutritious but too frequent.   
 
This year, I have scaled back to once a week going out to lunch, and though I love the place I go to eat for its locally sourced food items, I am truly considering taking my home made lunch to the beach instead and just looking at the waves.  I think I could still manage at least half of the asked for donation to help a child.
And this year the focus is the children of inmates at Christmas.  
 
This soap box is just for me, my own choir.  I cannot change that child’s focus, but maybe I can get her to think a bit, and I can do something that costs nothing; I can be kind to her and to the other privileged kids I come across.  
 
Today, as you come across something or some behavior that is distasteful, try and be kind to the person, even though you do not like the act.  God can use it all.  
Only Kindness Matters
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

