For Your Ears

hat is told in the ear of a man is often heard 100 miles away. 

~ Chinese Proverb

 

9-11 So this is my prayer: that your love will flourish and that you will not only love much but well. Learn to love appropriately. You need to use your head and test your feelings so that your love is sincere and intelligent, not sentimental gush. Live a lover’s life, circumspect and exemplary, a life Jesus will be proud of: bountiful in fruits from the soul, making Jesus Christ attractive to all, getting everyone involved in the glory and praise of God.

~ Philippians1:9-11

 

Some things are only meant for a lover’s ears.  Sometimes it is hard to think of Jesus as my lover because I am flesh and blood.  My domain is earth.  The part of me that longs for Jesus tells him things that are only meant for his ears, the things I cannot say out loud to another human being, the things that my heart cries for.  The funny part is, Jesus answers in so many ways.  Sometimes his answer is a bouquet of flowers, or a new set of light bulbs.  The love may come in the form of a kindergartner running from the line to hug me; my daughter writing me a beautiful, painstakingly written poem, my family getting everyone they could to write me a letter for my birthday last year.  They are treasures that too often get detached from the source of all love.

Today, let Jesus hug you, tuck you in, get your coffee, leave a way for you to pass.  It’s all about the love that drove him to make a way for you to get home.  Home where  a place has been prepared for you and you alone.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

