Just the way she is?

Make your optimism come true. 

 
      ~Author Unknown

 

22-25 Now that you’ve cleaned up your lives by following the truth, love one another as if your lives depended on it. Your new life is not like your old life. Your old birth came from mortal sperm; your new birth comes from God’s living Word. Just think: a life conceived by God himself! That’s why the prophet said,

The old life is a grass life,
its beauty as short-lived as wildflowers;
Grass dries up, flowers droop,
God’s Word goes on and on forever.

This is the Word that conceived the new life in you.

     ~ 1 Peter 1:24-25

 

There is a “B-52” in my circle of life that is invasive, loud, imposing, unforgiving, unrelenting.  I just go the other way when she comes near.  I spoke with a dear friend about the situation because I knew that this person was not going to change, and that I had to, but I did not know how to approach doing so.

Her words were simple, “Either love her the way she is, or stay out of her way.”  Of course I knew the right direction to follow. That first part of the phrase danced on my heart strings like a master violinist!  It is not easy, but slowly I can see the sparkle in the wave when she approaches, the way she interacts positively with many. She is who she is…just like me.  God loves me, so my prayer is that God will love this person through me.  

It may be uncomfortable for a time, but I know it means a growing time.  Here’s to the Master Gardener and possibilities.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

