We Won’t Be Shaken

Every wise man lives in an observatory.

  

~ Augustus William Hare and Julius Charles Hare
 
Therefore let us be grateful for receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, and thus let us offer to God acceptable worship, with reverence and awe;
 
Hebrews 12:28
 
Life in an observatory is interesting. Most times, you can see what is coming, what has come, what is there.  You cannot know what will shake you always. Speaking for myself, it often results in tears.  
 
A situation developed yesterday, and I could feel the sense of rejection, hurt, invisibility.  I got home, walked the dog, and still did not dissolve. I processed it with my husband, and realized that the time between the event and that processing was filled with wise words. I felt like Scarlett O’Hara just before she realizes she can take life on and reclaim the love she lost.  All those wise words finally sunk in.  The angst left and I was able to lift it in love.
 
Today, remember that death, hurt, weather, earthquake, you-name-it, can come at us, but if we are that tree planted by the water, we shall not be moved, or shaken. The song whose lyrics I have included is my soundtrack for today.  And I lift you, dear readers known and unknown up into the light that is oh so clear from the observatory.
 
Because of Him,
You won’t be shaken.
Linda
 
“We Won’t Be Shaken”

This world has nothing for me
This life is not my own
I know You go before me and I am not alone
This mountain rises higher
The way seems so unclear
But I know that You go with me so I will never fear
I will trust in You

Whatever will come our way
Through fire or pouring rain
We won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken
Whatever tomorrow brings
Together we’ll rise and sing
That we won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken
Oooh oooh oh
Oooh oooh oh
Oooh oooh oh
No we won’t be shaken

You know my every longing
You’ve heard my every prayer
You’ve held me in my weakness
Cause You are always there
So I’ll stand in full surrender
It’s Your way and not my own
My mind is set on nothing less
Than You and You alone
I will not be moved oh

Whatever will come our way
Through fire or pouring rain
We won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken
Whatever tomorrow brings
Together we’ll rise and sing
That we won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken

We will trust in You
We will not be moved
We will trust in You
And we won’t be shaken
[x3]

No we won’t be shaken

Whatever will come our way
Through fire or pouring rain
We won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken
Whatever tomorrow brings
Together we’ll rise and sing
That we won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken
Oooh oooh oh
Oooh oooh oh
Oooh oooh oh
No we won’t be shaken
Oooh oooh oh
Oooh oooh oh
Oooh oooh oh
No we won’t be shaken

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

