Magnify the Lord

In trying to get our own way, we should remember that kisses are sweeter than whine. 
 
~Author Unknown
 
And Mary said, [ Mary’s Song of Praise ] “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is his name. 
 
Luke 1:46-47, 49 RSV
 
I cannot picture Mary hearing the news, looking at her nails and saying “But I have a mani and a pedi!”  Or “I am supposed to go shopping with my BFFs!”  Many 12 and 13 year old girls are sarcastic, self-centered, self-absorbed.  It kind of goes with the age.  Not all, but some.  And here is a young girl who simply praised God. I picture her as a woman I work with in the district. Quiet, purposeful, directed. Kind, considerate and a wee bit of concern. No whining.  No self-centered ness. Peaceful countenance, light radiating from the inside.
 
Today, consider what it is you have been trying to “get” and re-think your approach. And if someone comes at you with a crazy request, re-think your initial answer.
 
 Magnify the Lord.
Because of Him,
Linda
 
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

