Remind Me Who I Am

Take a music bath once or twice a week for a few seasons.  You will find it is to the soul what a water bath is to the body.  
 
     ~ Oliver Wendell Holmes
 
4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
 
     ~ 1 Cor. 13:4-5
 
I listened to a sermon on Sunday that affirmed lament.  Affirmed the gift of being able to say anything to God.  I did not get permission to act on everything I say to God, but to pour my heart out no matter what flavor ends up in that cup.
 
Today I would remind you of how precious you are in the sight of God.  The choir sang On the Willows by Stephen Schwartz.  We sang of hanging up our lives on the willows, being taunted by captors, and finding the will to sing the Lord’s song in a foreign land.  I was okay until I realized where my “foreign land” was.  I got through the anthem  (well, mostly) and was reminded of Jason Gray’s song Remind Me Who I Am.
Jason Gray-  Remind Me Who I Am
It is a good thing to remember just who you are.  Especially in a “foreign” land. Take a bath in this one church.  The fragrance of beloved does not fade.
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

