A Child in Pursuit of Knowledge

 

What we want is to see the child in pursuit of knowledge, and not knowledge in pursuit of the child.   
 
     ~ George Bernard Shaw
 
 Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk, that by it you may grow up into salvation—  if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is good.
 
~ 1 Peter 2:2-3
 
My parents taught me my first prayers.  My favorite was the goodnight prayer.  
“Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep,
If I should die before I wake,
I pray the Lord my soul to take.
God bless…(and we prayed for family and friends.)
Amen.
 
I have seen this prayer all over the place.  Now I see it on plaques, necklaces, cards.  I almost never see it in this form.  I had a friend who said it was too scary for kids to pray, and apparently retailers agree.  But I really like the prayer in the form I learned it because I believe it taught me a level of faith, from the beginning, that gave me the whole arc.  We come from heaven, we live and we return.  It is a part of our waking and sleeping.
 
I am not trying to convert any of you to “my way.”  I am, however moved by the quote from George Bernard Shaw.  I pursued the knowledge of God, when I was little asking hard questions from the time I was small.  My father and mother explained that I should pray, I should listen to the Gospels as they made their cycle around the year, and that I should go to church and ask questions and never be afraid to ask questions.
 
I look at education switching from teaching and testing the knowledge that was learned, for a life-long learner outcome, and now it seems as if the test comes first, and pursues the child, with troubling results.
 
Today, lift you prayers to the Lord for our children, for parents, for spiritual and educational leaders, that they may stand in the light as they lead the children, and teach the children to lead.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

