I Smile

The world always looks brighter from behind a smile.  
 
          ~ Author Unknown
 
He wants not only us but everyone saved, you know, everyone to get to know the truth we’velearned: that there’s one God and only one, and one Priest-Mediator between God and us—Jesus, who offered himself in exchange for everyone held captive by sin, to set them all free. Eventually the news is going to get out. This and this only has been my appointed work: getting this news to those who have never heard of God, and explaining how it works by simple faith and plain truth.
 
         ~ 1 Tim 2:5-6
 
We hardly have a chance to speak.  I am terrible about making appointments, sending cards, actually picking up a phone.  But I see her each week in church, and we get to exchange a smile, if nothing else. 
 
When she smiles, I feel like I am in second grade and I have just made my “First Holy Communion” in a white dress and veil.  If you were not raised Catholic, I don’t know what you would like it to, but it feels as if I have swallowed a host of light and it is spreading inside of me. It is a joyful exchange.  And like a wisp, when service is over, I cannot find her, she has vanished into conversation, service, solitude, I know not which.  I can say this: that is just her smile!
 
Today as you go forth, try smiling before you pick up a phone, before you answer a question,  before you enter a room.  Let me know what happens. Please?  ; )
 
I Smile – Kirk Franklin
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

