The Family?

The family. We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together. 
 
     ~  Erma Bombeck
 
I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me,[a] is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”
 

   ~ John 10:28-30

 
When I look out into the congregation, or the classroom, or the train station, the audience at a concert, the line for the rest room, I accept these people as my family.  But as the circle gets smaller, I have a tendency to pick and choose. I don’t know if any one else does this, but, I always thought I was so much bigger than that.
 
I am not.  My prayer for today is that I can ask God to show them ALL to me through God’s eyes and love them through His son. I’d love to hear your strategies.  I tend to pray for those in my life who ask, who I am given to pray for, and the ones that drive me totally crazy.
 
Today, please think of your strategies, and if you have a moment, share?  
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

