Friends, Ministries and the Director of Music

The friend within the man is that part of him which belongs to you and opens to you a door which never, perhaps, is opened to another. Such a friend is true, and all he says is true; and he loves you even if he hates you in other mansions of his heart. 
 
      ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Wisdom of the Sands,  
           translated from French by Stuart Gilbert
 

10-12 So where does that leave you when you criticize a brother? And where does that leave you when you condescend to a sister? I’d say it leaves you looking pretty silly—or worse. Eventually, we’re all going to end up kneeling side by side in the place of judgment, facing God. Your critical and condescending ways aren’t going to improve your position there one bit. Read it for yourself in Scripture:

“As I live and breathe,” God says,
    “every knee will bow before me;
Every tongue will tell the honest truth
    that I and only I am God.”

So tend to your knitting. You’ve got your hands full just taking care of your own life before God.

        ~ Romans 14:11

 

I have shared my heart with way too many people by some folk’s standards.  I open up, let it go, and hope for the best.  A former colleague gave me some great advice after the last time she had to put me back together: “Reduce your circle.” she said.  “Let the opinions who count be the ones in that little circle, let the rest go.”

This helped a great deal, I began to reduce my circle and felt much lighter.  My mother’s advice was “If you have as many friends as you have fingers on one hand, you are rich.”  

Periodically, I would count and think I was doing so much “better” than that.  Now that I am where I am, I see that she was right as she often was.  But, here’s the thing; we are Christians.

Our job is to shine.  Our job is to share. Ultimately, our job is to love.  This means we need to follow Jesus’ leading through whatever door He leads us, and rely on Him for the answers.  It means that some folks are friends, and as my husband so wisely pointed out, some are a ministry.  Let the Lord show you how to divide, while you keep your eyes on your knitting, your book, your nets, your pen, your music.  Look up to breathe, as the director is giving you instruction to grow quieter, to sing louder or to cut you off.

 

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

