My Redeemer Lives

If I had a single flower for every time I think of you, I could walk forever in my garden.

 
      ~ Claudia Adrienne Grandi
 
 
For I know that my Redeemer lives,
    and at the last he will stand upon the earth.[a]
 
     ~ Job 19:25
 
My Redeemer Lives
There are some feelings that I just can’t shake.  They fade for awhile, but something comes along and opens up that wound.  Fifth grade is a long time for a cut not to heal.  It boils down to meanness on the part of others, and in some cases, like one of my treasured new colleagues says, “People just don’t spend as much time thinking as you and I do.  They just act without a second thought.”
 
In my “highest thought”  days, I lift these folks up, let the winds of forgiveness take them and let it go.  And then, like a person who turns a corner in a supermarket with their cart, and looking the other way, BAM.  Those are the days I wish I could talk to my mom, or my dad.  Their precious advice, their higher road direction is missed.  I am thankful for my family and that I can call upon them to remind me of these things.  Their comfort is the Saviour’s on earth.  Just wish I could shake the feeling of not belonging.  Like so many other things, this is a process that I must trust to God.
Today, consider giving your hurt to God once more, knowing that He lives. That sometimes splinters take a long time but they do pop out.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

