Listen!

Some people are so much sunshine to the square inch. 
 
     ~Walt Whitman
 
Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.
 
     ~ Phiippians 4:6-7
 
So I spent much of last week in deep worry about a job related issue.  I let it color the words I heard, the words I shared, the words I spoke.  Worry.  I got to choir Thursday night and cried through most of it.  One dear friend simply looked my way, said nothing. She knew.  Another looked across the way and in one gesture did the kindest thing she has done in our whole relationship, and it touched my soul deeply.  A third sat next to me and, having forgotten her flute, sang the flute part. She didn’t know what I was going through, but God used her as an instrument to get through.
 
And nope, nothing changed. I left choir lifted but not finished.  Not finished until I got a call from a friend going through a time of trial and waiting.  I advised her the way I needed to be advised and did not realize it until I was full into the conversation and almost out the other side.
 
Worry changes NOTHING. God can see the big picture like no other.  We guess at just about EVERYTHING else. I told my friend on the phone to mentally take the issue and lift it in her mind.  Lift it to God.  EVERY time it surfaces.  And I got my own advice right back.
 
Today, listen to what you say to others.  God may be using you to give His own advice to YOU.
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

