Freedom and Consistency? Help!

Photograph: a picture painted by the sun without instruction in art. 
 
       ~ Ambrose Bierce
 
13-15 It is absolutely clear that God has called you to a free life. Just make sure that you don’t use this freedom as an excuse to do whatever you want to do and destroy your freedom. Rather, use your freedom to serve one another in love; that’s how freedom grows. For everything we know about God’s Word is summed up in a single sentence: Love others as you love yourself. That’s an act of true freedom. If you bite and ravage each other, watch out—in no time at all you will be annihilating each other, and where will your precious freedom be then?
 
       ~ Galatians 5:13
 
Yesterday’s experiment in retail was less than favorable.  I wanted to have some shoes repaired, and, finding the cobbler closed, I went into a neighboring store to look for shoes.  The merchant recognized me and  that I had not been in for a long time.  She was happy to throw names of designers around and directed me to a pair of shoes she could not find.  She was sure they were stolen, and decried her lot for a bit. Then I found them.
 
When I saw the price of these shoes and the sign above them (New for Spring! – FULL PRICE,)  I said a little bit louder than I meant to, “I cannot afford that.” Whereupon she offered to “give” them to me for half price.  I was instantly reminded of why I stopped going in there.  Nothing is what it seems and the sale is always arbitrary.  I was so relieved when I saw another customer come in!  I left, and unless the Lord gives me specific direction, I will not go in there again.  
 
I walked to a neighboring store and looked around, trying to recover my joy, and ended up venting to the lovely salespeople that were having a slow day.
 
Yes, we are free.  Yes we have the ability to use our freedom the way we will.  I wanted so much to be able to help this merchant but I was too angry.  I will pray for her, and ask God for wisdom. What would you do? I probably should have taken the advice of Og Mandino and treated her as if it were her last day.  Something is very wrong with this picture…
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

