Here I Am Lord, (Singing through tears)

I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the community, and as long as I live it is my privilege to do for it whatever I can. 
 
     ~ G.B. Shaw
 
In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.
 
   ~ Psalm 56:4
 
I sing in a wonderful choir.  It delights me to speak about them, our wonderful organist, our tender conductor, each voice.  We had the privilege of singing at the funeral service of a choir member.  We sang a beautiful anthem by Dan Schutte, Here I Am, Lord.   This song moves me to tears on a regular day, but on this day, the choir broke down during rehearsal, and during the funeral service. 
 
The beautiful thing about it was that when one of us broke down, another member “came back” and was able to sing the next phrase.  This funeral just about broke us, this woman so beloved.  I felt a part of a living organism, a community of faith.  Our director sang with us as a part of the group this time, and his voice rang with the tenderness and love that we all felt for our dear friend Marilyn.  He poured his heart into his part in each song we sang.  
 
It was a very hard hour, and one that will return to bless me for a long time as I think of the impact of one life on a community.
Today, pick up the tune for a sister or a brother, work as one, keep singing through the tears.
 
Here I Am, Lord
 
Because of Him,
Linda

 

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

One response to “Here I Am Lord, (Singing through tears)

  1. I am one who is used to signing through tears. How could we possibly know the God of all comfort without our pain?

Leave a Reply

