Jewels Indeed

These gems have life in them:  their colors speak, say what words fail of.  
      ~ George Eliot
 
 
11 Wherefore comfort yourselves together, and edify one another, even as also ye do.
 
     ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:11
Never Never Land
I work in a place full of jewels.  I get a mixed bag every 45 minutes.  Kindergartners who know that their latest five second discovery is the of the utmost importance, third graders who care about the art of book repair, fifth graders who know it all, but don’t know what to do with it; they sparkle and shine every day. 
 
 Yesterday, I had a group of third graders unexpectedly due to a staff illness. They entered enthusiastically and began playing various library games, Bookopoly, a game of author cards that they had to match to the shelves, and mazes. One boy was set to feel excluded from the beginning.  
“I never win. I play and I play and I never win!” He got more and more upset until I asked the class,  “How many of you have ever played something and lost?” All of our hands went up.  The boy looked around.  
“Why do you keep playing if you lose?” I asked.
 
“Because it’s good practice!” said one.
“Because it’s all for fun!” said another.
But the one I absolutely cheered inside was the boy whose broad smile spoke of the joy of playing; “Because if you keep trying and trying, eventually you will win!”
 
The boy who was feeling like a loser brightened a little, and while I am sure he will need some close attention in the future, I felt that he had heard his classmate, and, shined just a little brighter.
 
Today, don’t give up.  Ask God to show you the path more clearly, maybe it is different than what you imagined for you or for one you love, but it is the path to the win, to the joy, to the shine.  
Because of Him,
Linda
1 Comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

One response to “Jewels Indeed

  1. Your writing is so soft it makes me wonder if it just dances our of your mind onto the screen. Love your writing.

Leave a Reply

