O Love of God

Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine. 
 
     ~ Anthony J. D’Angelo, The College Blue Book
 

 

9-10 “I’ve loved you the way my Father has loved me. Make yourselves at home in my love. If you keep my commands, you’ll remain intimately at home in my love. That’s what I’ve done—kept my Father’s commands and made myself at home in his love.

 

     ~ John 15:10The Message (MSG)

 
We (my husband and I) just returned home from a week’s stay in Virginia.  We had an incredible time of peaceful, restful activity, new experiences, old friends.  On the way to Virginia, we stopped in Pennsylvania at the Hope of Christ Presbyterian Church to visit with some friends.  We were too late for service, but the welcome we got from our friends, and from the few from the congregation was one that a person might receive from a favorite aunt, a long lost comrade, the body of Christ.  The right HUG of fellowship was exchanged and energized we were! 
 
 During the week, we explored the Skyline Drive, Luray Caverns, Shenandoah Caverns, several museums.  We had some quality time alone.  My walls fell away once more with my best friend and we had some wonderful communication.
 
On the return trip, we stopped at Opequon Presbyterian Church, where we knew absolutely no one, and were greeted with the same wonderful spirit that we met at Hope of Christ.  The webmaster of that church was among several who went our of their way to make us feel welcome.  Indeed, we felt at home in the love of God.  We then stopped to reunite with  a friend of mine from my Church of God days.  I had not seen her in 35 years and it was like yesterday.  She was a mentor for me both  musically and spiritually.  The warm welcome extended to both of our husbands who had never met and we became another extension of the body of Christ.  
 
I don’t know where you are traveling this summer, this week, today…but wherever it is, look for the signature love of God. Bring it with you, and enjoy the return.
 
O Love of God by Laura Story, Ian Cron, Cindy Morgan
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

