The Courage of My Lungs

I always loved running… it was something you could do by yourself, and under your own power. You could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet and the courage of your lungs.

~ Jesse Owens

Now God has us where he wants us, with all the time in this world and the next to shower grace and kindness upon us in Christ Jesus. Saving is all his idea, and all his work. All we do is trust him enough to let him do it. It’s God’s gift from start to finish! We don’t play the major role. If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing! No, we neither make nor save ourselves. God does both the making and saving. He creates each of us by Christ Jesus to join him in the work he does, the good work he has gotten ready for us to do, work we had better be doing.
~ Ephesians 2:7-10

The strength of my feet, the courage of my lungs. Every other day of the week, I would be challenged to rise. This morning at 5 am, I woke up to the sound of the rain, insistent, aggressive, relentless.

I checked the remaining windows, removed a fan, and then came downstairs. I was afraid, my stomach was in a knot, and I did not know why. Until I went into the basement. I heard a babbling brook, and my wet feet gave me a direction. Water was pouring in a basement,casement window. I went upstairs, crying to get my husband because I knew I could not do the work alone. I asked God for help and felt a little guilty asking having just returned from New Orleans and the knowledge of what happened there. And this was no river, no Lake Ponchartrain, no south shore of Long Island. It was my basement. My husband came down and we started moving, tossing, shop-vac-ing. It got better, but the first two loads that we had to empty and it was so heavy. I knew I could have never accomplished it alone. I was barely much help as I am short and don’t have a lot of leverage.

We finished stage one of the clean-up, and there is so much more to do. Like the loss of a loved one, this invasion sharpened my focus on what I want to accomplish in the house in the next year. I will rise. Because I know who inhabits my lungs, my feet, my heart, my soul.

What sharpens your focus?
Today, breathe in and out and give Him thanks that you are able.
Because of Him,
Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

