Living in Laodicea

Hear blessings dropping their blossoms around you.

~Rumi

Write to Laodicea, to the Angel of the church. God’s Yes, the Faithful and Accurate Witness, the First of God’s creation, says:
“Look at me. I stand at the door. I knock. If you hear me call and open the door, I’ll come right in and sit down to supper with you. Conquerors will sit alongside me at the head table, just as I, having conquered, took the place of honor at the side of my Father. That’s my gift to the conquerors!
~ Rev 3:14, 20

Steve Camp wrote a song about Laodicea many years ago.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0tqYetdVmw

Laodicea was a city on an aqueduct, whose water was neither hot or cold, it was known for a medical school, a powder that helped eye maladies, it was known for not accepting help when an earthquake hit and caused great damage. The Roman government offered, but they wanted to do it themselves.

Right now, I kind of feel like I could live there. I am stubborn about accepting some help, my vision needs a boost, and the dog is barking so answering the door is a challenge.

My zeal needs a refresher, and so I will sing, and I will pray and I will make amends with the man at the door who knocks, but finds no handle.

Will you pray with me today? Lord, thank you for all you have done for me, the blessings that lay round about me, the clutter that speaks of abundance. Thank you for those through whom you love me. Bless them Lord.
Lord be my vision, my hands, my feet. Help me to flow cold and refreshing, hot and healing. Lord help me to know that I do not have to do it myself, that you are there as close in inhale. Open my ears to hear the blossoms of blessings around me. Help me to walk in the light and burn bright once more. Amen

Living in Laodicea

Oh Lord, take Your plow to my fallowed ground
Let Your blade dig down to the soil of my soul
For I’ve become dry and dusty, Lord I know there must be
Richer earth lying below

Chorus:

For I’ve been living in Laodicea
And the fire that once burned bright, I’ve let it grow dim
And the very Word I swore that I would die for all has been forgotten
As the world’s become my friend

We have turned from Your Law to try to find a better way
Each man does today what is right in his own eyes
We will pay the price for our sinning
We can never know true living, we’ve exchanged His truth for lies

CHORUS

It is no small of a thing that He’s done for you
By shutting the gates of hell upon the cross
We were sentenced once but now we are pardoned
And He chooses to use us though we fall

So while we’re living in Laodicea
Keep the fire burning bright, don’t let it grow dim
For the very One we swore that we would die for, He must not be forgotten
Fear the world become a friend

For the very One we swore that we would die for, He must not be forgotten

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

