Beauty is a feast!

Literature is the question minus the answer. 

 
      ~ Roland Barthes
 
 
I, yes I, am God.
    I’m the only Savior there is.
I spoke, I saved, I told you what existed
    long before these upstart gods appeared on the scene.
And you know it, you’re my witnesses,
    you’re the evidence.” God’s Decree.
 
      ~ Isaiah 43:11-12
 
The message is sometimes right in front of you.  And sometimes, after you read the whole piece, something sneaks out, like the last breath of a crushed pine needle, and catches your attention.   For me, often that is the Spirit of the Living God.  
 
     I started a poem on a trip to Tennessee once, where I met my then pastor’s sister and then saw a picture of her before she knew the Lord.  It took me 15 years to finish that poem, but the essence of it was that this woman was beautiful.   Her make-up perfect, clothing just so, smiling warmly.  Perfect indeed.
 
     Until I saw another picture of her, a more recent one.  She looked as if she were glowing! There was no partner standing next to her, no make-up, no extra adornment.  I asked her grandmother about the pictures and she said, “Simple, what you see is the love of the Lord in the second picture, the first was before she accepted Jesus into her heart.
 
     I don’t have to ask you if you know the Lord most times. I don’t need to make an altar call just because I have never seen you before.  Because the God above all others shines from the inside out.  And your fruits bespeak all that is inside.
Literature for the tired soul whenever I see you.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

