The Words of My Mouth

A good book on your shelf is a friend that turns its back on you and remains a friend. 
 
     ~ Author Unknown
 
Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, OLord, my strength, and my redeemer.
 
     ~ Psalm 19:14
 
     I can remember four times yesterday that my mouth opened and the wrong thing came out.  Morning, noon and night…mouth opened, both feet uncomfortably inserted.  When I spoke with my daughter about it she said, “Mom, it’s your lesson for today.”  
 
     Oh yes it was, and is and will be.   
 
     I sat in worship last night and the words that leapt off the page at me where the ones about confessing your sin and letting go and giving it to God.  Yup, textbook lesson, good book solution.   I wonder what led the psalmist to write the words above.  I wonder what he or she was reading or listening to or talking about just before that wonderful set of lines.  I wonder if the Psalm we read in worship last night was written by the same psalmist as penned the words to Psalm 32.
 
     I wonder if I can apply the lesson today…
Today give the words of your mouth and the meditations of your heart to the author and finisher of our faith.  Watch God work!
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

