A Time for Turning

A grandmother pretends she doesn’t know who you are on Halloween. 
     ~Erma Bombeck
 

 Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping. Keep your guard up. You’re not the only ones plunged into these hard times. It’s the same with Christians all over the world. So keep a firm grip on the faith. The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ—eternal and glorious plans they are!—will have you put together and on your feet for good. He gets the last word; yes, he does.

1 Peter 5:8-9

     And what a nap I had.  I got hit with good news, bad news, day changing news yesterday.  Such a roller coaster of emotions. If I had to give myself a grade for it, I’d say it was an epic fail.  I was angry, I cried, I swore, I had a bad attitude.  But it could have been even worse.  

     My colleagues were trying to fix me, and all I wanted to do was feel what I was feeling to get it out and get it over with.  I removed myself from the meeting before I started crying, but once folks in the hall saw me, the fixing began.  Once I recovered, it was better, and the day righted itself with a plethora of other ways to ride the roller coaster.

     I came home and was gifted with my husband’s ear of wisdom, my husband who also made dinner as he has all week, and the restoration began.  I got to choir, sang under the direction of a world class director, sat next to folks I love, and was gifted with the music of our treasured church organist who made music in my soul. (The music made me see and smell the leaves falling as she played!)  My day, and the scripture…God got the last word as God will continue to get the last word. Right till the end.

Now to put that on a post it note and attach it to my forehead.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_GLZcD7WTM

A Time for Turning – Craig Courtney

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

