Like a Seed

Every thought is a seed. If you plant crab apples, don’t count on harvesting Golden Delicious. 
 
     ~Bill Meyer
 

How well God must like you—
    you don’t hang out at Sin Saloon,
    you don’t slink along Dead-End Road,
    you don’t go to Smart-Mouth College.

2-3 Instead you thrill to God’s Word,
    you chew on Scripture day and night.
You’re a tree replanted in Eden,
    bearing fresh fruit every month,
Never dropping a leaf,
    always in blossom.

~ Psalm 1:1-3

Boy am I glad God loves me

though there is a stench about my shoes

I have read all the graffiti on the Dead End sign,

I have an advanced degree in Smart-Mouth.

My own guilt condemns me, yet

He makes me fruited bread

drizzled with honey,

He sets a cup of kindness to my lips 

each day, sends small blossoms

singing their way through my path

and surrounds me with family

of His own choosing.

Oh Lord, I praise your Holy name!

Fill my thoughts with seeds of joy,

make the psalmist’s prayer my own,

I will ever praise your name.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

