From Milk to Meat

Not what we say about our blessings, but how we use them, is the true measure of our thanksgiving. 
 
~W.T. Purkiser
 
My counsel for you is simple and straightforward: Just go ahead with what you’ve been given. You received Christ Jesus, the Master; now live him. You’re deeply rooted in him. You’re well constructed upon him. You know your way around the faith. Now do what you’ve been taught. School’s out; quit studying the subject and start living it! And let your living spill over into thanksgiving.
 
~ Colossians 2:6-7
 
Yup. It’s all about taking that step.  I remember my early days as a conscious Christian.  Spent all the time in church, drinking up every thing I could get.  No discernment yet, but full and waiting for more.   
     There came a preacher fresh from an evangelist career.  His preaching was exciting at first, then there was something I couldn’t put my finger on.  Gradually I noticed one of my dear friends had her nose in her Bible.  She rarely looked up, but she did shift in her seat uncomfortably more often than I realized.  I asked her if she was okay.  She told me to start matching sermon to scripture, to start listening a little harder, to put my study to work.  
     The Lord didn’t even move me from the table!  I got my first lesson right there.  Gradually this person turned to our small church and invited the “loyal” to follow him out the door.  He literally split the church in half.  I was there and when the dust cleared, so were many of my friends.  Shortly thereafter, the Jonestown Massacre occurred and I saw a season of charlatans rip through the body of Christ.
     God used the experiences of that time to help sharpen my senses spiritually, to help me from milk to meat, to show me how to be thankful in all circumstances.  Today, I pray that same for you.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

