Sunrise

We can only appreciate the miracle of a sunrise if we have waited in the darkness. 

 
     ~ Author Unknown
 
 

Seek good, and not evil, that ye may live: and so the Lord, the God of hosts, shall be with you, as ye have spoken.

Hate the evil, and love the good, and establish judgment in the gate: it may be that the Lord God of hosts will be gracious unto the remnant of Joseph.

     ~ Amos 5:14-15

     Did you notice the moon yesterday morning?  I thought about the children’s book, Goodnight Moon and wondered about writing a Good Morning Moon answer.  I was happy to see the moon in the morning, just before the sunlight seared the sky, bringing hope, light and some warmth to this cold place right now.  

     Many years ago, I was driving through the night with two friends.  I had the last shift into sunrise.  I can remember opening the windows because I could feel myself getting drowsy.  I stuck my hand out the window just for some action, and then finally turned the radio up just a bit.  I was so happy to see the sunrise!  It made the difference in the last few miles before we reached our destination.

Although the light dawned on an experience that left me wondering about God’s will for my life, I was so happy to see the sunrise!  A new day.  A new way to listen, another chance at loving the good and sharing it.

Lord, help me to see the good today.  Help my words to be guided by your light, by your Son.  Let your teaching be evident in my actions.  Thank you Lord.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

