The Good Old Days?

Nostalgia is a file that removes the rough edges from the good old days. 

     ~ Doug Larson
 
Don’t bargain with God. Be direct. Ask for what you need. This isn’t a cat-and-mouse, hide-and-seek game we’re in. If your child asks for bread, do you trick him with sawdust? If he asks for fish, do you scare him with a live snake on his plate? As bad as you are, you wouldn’t think of such a thing. You’re at least decent to your own children. So don’t you think the God who conceived you in love will be even better?
~ Matthew 7:7-8
 
     I don’t remember much about fourth grade except that I loved my teacher.  She taught us music (Broadway musical stuff, stuff that came from England that Americans sang with a different tune, stuff I still sing!), she taught us vocabulary words from England (she was a British war-bride), she was kind.  I don’t remember who wouldn’t play with me, who was mean to me, who was smarter than I.
     That is why it is so painful to watch what most people consider normal behavior in a social group of fourth graders.  They so want to be accepted, they so want to have friends (just like I did and sometimes do.) I am watching just plain meanness coming from this group.  Girls hiding things from their classmates, being pointed about not playing with particular classmates, just plain unkindness.
     Jesus wanted the children to be in front of him. I am sure they all wanted him to be their best friend, show him their best toy, their rooms, their friends.  Why is it so hard to see Jesus in those we are with every day?
     Today Lord, help me to see you.  In the children I teach, in the children of yours that I teach with, in the world around me.  Help us to remember more than the good when it is helpful to someone in pain. Help to see with your eyes and love.
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

