The Blessings Jar

Both optimists and pessimists contribute to our society. The optimist invents the airplane and the pessimist the parachute. 

 
          ~ Gil Stern
 

Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;

Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.

          ~ 1 Cor 13:6-7

     I have this blessings jar that a friend suggested I make.  The idea is to put beautiful things, happy thoughts, good deeds that others have done for/to me, positive thoughts and ways in which God has blessed me into the jar.  January was a piece of cake, good was all I saw.  But as the snow piled on, and the winter seemed relentless instead of beautiful, February has presented me with some challenges.  

     And yet, the three angry poems that I have written for myself released some very important thoughts and emotions that I had been carrying.  Some for way too long. They were blessings because of the release.  The folks who caused the hurt will probably never see the poems, but God knows that I have lifted them up and begun the process of healing.

     I am reminded of the splinter that doesn’t come all the way out.  For whatever reason, the tweezers cannot grip it, and a remnant is left.  The wound closes over, there is some irritation, but the splinter has to come out on its own.  When it comes out is mostly beyond our control.  Once, on a trip, I stuck my finger out the window at the precise moment that the driver decided to put it up. It didn’t hurt, but it surprised me, and lo and behold there was the remnant of a splinter I had forgotten about; forced out by a surprise squeeze. I was so happy to see it gone!  Blessing!

Lord, help me to rejoice in the small things that grow from the healing process, and to find the blessings in the splinters, the airplanes and the parachutes and those who create them.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

