Thou Shalt Not Commit Adultery

“The pain passes. The beauty remains.” 


          ~ Pierre-Auguste Renoir
 
 

Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.

38 This is the first and great commandment.

39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

          ~ Matthew 22:37-39

Our pastor has been preaching a series on the 10 Commandments.  I missed a couple because of illness, but I was there this past Sunday for #6. “Thou shalt not commit adultery.”  I wondered how the subject would be approached.  I have seen it destroy families, the children, the children’s children.  Pastor Tim took an approach that opened up the entire set, written in stone  that I had not ever considered.  

The commandments were written not just to guide the individual, but to guide communities. Not just the church community, but the smaller community, the larger community, the world community.  I had always only ever seen the commandments as a rule book.  My dad always said the rules were there to protect “honest men.”  He said if you locked your door, an honest person who might have been tempted, would be discouraged.  Well, with this commandment, I saw instantly the ramifications of following it in the world.  Pastor Tim took us through the destruction of those in the bible who had decided to change the rules for their good, or their own protection.  And it was good to consider those famous rule breakers in the light of the community.

Lord, help me to be mindful of my neighbors, locally and globally, help me to follow your path and know that you will lead me out of temptation.  Help me to pray the same for my neighbors around the world.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Inspirational, Original Writing, Poetry

Leave a Reply

